Many Louisiana workers can get $250 from the state if they apply for the Hazard Pay ProgramPosted on: September 30, 2020
Some people in the following Louisiana jobs can get $250 from the state:
- Grocery store, convenience store, and food assistance program workers;
- Bus drivers; gas station staff members; sanitation workers; residential, commercial and industrial solid waste and hazardous waste removal workers; storage and disposal staff;
- Many medical workers:
- Nurses, assistants, aides, medical residents, pharmacy staff, phlebotomists, respiratory therapists, and workers providing direct patient care in inpatient and outpatient dialysis facilities;
- Housekeeping, laundry services, food services and waste management workers in hospitals and healthcare facilities;
- Long-term care facility staff members, outpatient care workers, home care workers, personal assistance providers, home health providers, home delivered meal providers, and childcare service providers;
- Public health epidemiologists
- Many “first responders”:
- Emergency medical services (EMS) staff, fire and rescue members, and law enforcement officers;
- Mortuary service providers; or
- Veterinary service staff
The full list of eligible jobs can be found here.
This is separate from the federal stimulus check and unemployment benefits. Even if you received those, you may still be eligible for the $250 if you meet the requirements below.
To get the check, you must apply. Funds may run out, so sooner is better. If you are eligible, apply as soon as possible.
If you have questions about the program or the application, you can call the Louisiana Department of Revenue at (855) 307-3893 or visit this website.
Who can get the $250?
Workers who meet all of the following requirements are eligible:
Is a Louisiana resident with $50,000 or less in adjusted gross income on their 2019 Louisiana Income Taxes
- You do not need to be a Louisiana resident for a certain amount of time to be eligible.
- If you did not file a tax return for 2019, your 2018 tax return will be used. If you were not required to file a Louisiana income tax return those years, that will not keep you from being eligible. But you will have to turn in other documents.
Worked outside of their home for at least 200 hours between March 22, 2020, to May 14, 2020
- You must have provided in-person services outside of your home to members of the public (customers, clients, patients, etc.)
Employed in one of the jobs listed on or after March 11, 2020.
Submitted their application for the program to the Louisiana Department of Revenue before October 31, 2020.
*If you are mailing your application in, it must be postmarked by October 31, 2020.
How do I apply for the program?
You can apply online at frontlineworkers.la.gov, or you can apply by printing and mailing the form at http://revenue.louisiana.gov/TaxForms/R-6186%20(7_20)F.pdf to:
Louisiana Department of Revenue
P. O. Box 5128
Baton Rouge, LA 70821
- You cannot apply by phone.
- Mailed applications will not get a receipt. The department will follow up if there are questions or if you are denied. If you are approved, your payment will be sent to you.
- Do not apply more than once (like once online and once by mail). The agency says this will delay any payment. Only the first application will be reviewed. All others will be denied.
- Each eligible worker will need to submit their own application. For example, you and your spouse would both need to apply separately.
- Filing copies of your paycheck stubs for March 22, 2020 to May 14, 2020 when you apply can speed up your application.
What is this program called?
The Frontline Workers COVID-19 Hazard Pay Rebate Program or Covid-19 Hazard Pay.
I worked part-time in one of the eligible jobs. Can I get the $250?
Maybe. If you worked at least 200 hours from March 22, 2020 to May 14, 2020 and meet the other program requirements, and the money does not run out, you will be eligible. Both part-time and full-time employees can get it.
I did not work the 200 hours in one job. Can I combine hours from two jobs on the list?
Yes. As long as you also meet the other requirements, you will be eligible. There is no requirement that the 200 hours need to be all for the same employer.
I worked in-person in one of the eligible jobs, for at least 200 hours after March 22, 2020. But I was laid off before May 14, 2020. Can I get the payment?
Yes. As long as you meet all of the requirements of the program, you will be eligible. For example, if you were laid off on April 30, 2020, but already worked 200 hours since March 22, 2020, you will still be eligible.
I received unemployment benefits in March 2020, but I worked in an eligible job beginning in April for over 200 hours by May 14, 2020. Can I get the payment?
Yes. You qualify if you received unemployment, as long as you meet the requirements.
I am self-employed doing in-person services in an eligible job. Can I get the payment?
Yes. Self-employed people are eligible if all of the requirements are met. You may need to submit more documents.
How will I receive my payment?
If you give your bank information on your application, you will be paid by direct deposit. If you do not send your bank information, you will be sent a paper check.
How will I know if there are issues with my application?
If the Louisiana Department of Revenue has questions about your application, it will send a letter. Be sure that your application has your current address. If you moved after filing your application, call the Department at (855) 307-3893.
If the Department sends a follow-up for more information, you must respond within 30 days or your application will be denied.
Some common errors that can delay payment include:
- Applying more than once
- Putting more than one worker on an application
- Not sending all documents the Department of Revenue requested in a follow-up letter
If your application is denied, you will receive a letter.